The Power of Priority

 

17194_10151594039828707_997760624_n

Do you have a list of things-to-do sat by your work area? Maybe it’s held to the fridge by magnets? Do you find yourself becoming overwhelmed by everything listed on there? Does the list have this magical way of growing without you even knowing? 

We have all been there – myself included. In fact I’ve been there so many gorgeous times that I think I own shares in my list of things to do stressing arena! 

 

 

NEVER FEAR – DAWN, THE LIFE COACHING MIRACLE IS HERE! 

Along the way of training to be an accountant, studying and training as a Life Coach, and currently studying for my degree at University, I have picked up some handy tips that can help you. When you’re a student you have to learn how to manage your timetable and work schedule and it’s a lot harder than when you were at school and had your teacher telling you what needed to be done – you are your own teacher now gorgeous! You have to keep yourself on track, hold yourself accountable, persist, be committed, remain dedicated, and keep your eyes on target. These are all skills you need to use when you are trying to get from here to there.

Let’s create a list together of all the things you need to get done … yes I’m going to do one with you! List EVERYTHING that needs to get done, all the boring mundane jobs to the fabulously fruity ones that get your creative and motivational juices going.

This is my list from today;

  • Do something with my hair today – something fun 
  • Try a new eye shadow
  • Hoover the House – every square inch
  • Load the washing machine
  • Have bath & prep for tomorrow
  • De-clutter handbag
  • Study for Uni
  • Write up Loveability post for tomorrows Loveability weekly posting
  • Exercise the Goddess body
  • Contact the Mr to ensure all is well with him
  • Relax
  • Read
  • Write
  • Tidy
  • Cook
  • Eat
  • Stop writing things on this list
  • start crossing things off this list
  • Fix files that got mislaid on laptop
  • Start getting on with these things…
  • NOW

 

OK OK, we ran away with our things to do didn’t we? It’s easily done, forgive yourself. So how do we go about getting all this done in less that 24 hours, provide ourselves with family time, me time and non-stress time? How can we possibly get so much done in such a short amount of time when other things keep popping us for us to do?

IT’S ALL ABOUT A PROCESS OF ELIMINATION

Grab that list and read every one of them again without allowing the feeling of fear overwhelming you. You are in the process of organisation and that is one super powerful place to hang out in. You are in total control, you say what gets done, when and how. You are super manager woman of your own list, so strike a pose and let the cape of awesomeness fly.

As you read through each one of the things on your list ask yourself one defining question;

Would it matter if this didn’t get done today?

Answer truthfully. You should find, like I did that there are plenty of things you can cross off straight away that can be done at a later date… like tomorrow, or the next day, or the weekend, or maybe they just aren’t super important and the world will keep on turning without even noticing that you didn’t do it at all!

So here’s what happened with my list;

  • Do something with my hair today – something fun 
  • Try a new eye shadow
  • Hoover the House – every square inch
  • Load the washing machine
  • Have bath & prep for tomorrow
  • De-clutter handbag
  • Study for Uni
  • Write up Loveability post for tomorrows Loveability weekly posting
  • Exercise the Goddess body
  • Contact the Mr to ensure all is well with him
  • Relax
  • Read
  • Write
  • Tidy
  • Cook
  • Eat
  • Stop writing things on this list
  • start crossing things off this list
  • Fix files that got mislaid on laptop
  • Start getting on with these things…
  • NOW 

So now my list didn’t look too bad. So next came the next can of hairspray to making my motivation, accountability, determination, persistence and dedication stick like glue.

THE POWER OF PRIORITY

The next thing you do is gather your absolute goals and prioritize them in order of importance.

Here’s how mine looked;

  • Load the washing machine
  • Hoover the House – every square inch
  • Tidy
  • Contact the Mr to ensure all is well with him (he was on nights so was asleep otherwise I would have made him my No1)
  • Cook
  • Eat
  • Exercise the Goddess body
  • Write
  • Have bath / Relax / Read
  • Prep for tomorrow
  • Write up Loveability post for tomorrows Loveability weekly posting

Look how short my list is now!!! And I even managed to combine tasks so that it felt more manageable.

So next time you find yourself becoming overwhelmed with that list, remember the power of priority and get things done the Goddess way.

So have you tried this method before? How did it work for you? Maybe this is new to you, try it and let me know how you get on

Future Posts include; Goddess Goals & How to Stay on Track, Having a Partner in Crime, The Goals of Couple-dom 

Love & Miracles

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Business Coaching, Empowerment Coaching, Law Of Attraction, Life Coach, Life Coaching, Prosperity Coaching, Success Coaching
9 comments on “The Power of Priority
  1. hemalradia says:

    Very nice, Dawn! This is similar to something I practice and I find it very helpful. It was great to get your process. I definitely agree, organising, eliminating non-essentials and priorities helps a lot, and the key thing is focus! 🙂

  2. Eydie says:

    Hi Dawn, I’m a list maker – and I’m a list breaker. LOL At first I’d get all bent out of shape when I didn’t finish my list. But eventually, I saw that the world didn’t end if I didn’t get through it in the fashion I had planned.

    I’ve not seen your method of list building and then dissecting – I’ll be sure to give it a try.

    Eydie 🙂

  3. Jyoti says:

    Thank you Dawn. Love knowing that I am “Super Manager Woman” of my list. Off to cross something.

  4. I’m not sure I’d make it without my lists. I rely on them not to forget anything.

  5. Kate says:

    Nice Dawn, I used to be a list maker. Now I sort of go with the flow and life seems to have a way of making what I need to do a priority. So it all works out. I suppose I have my routine and work routine factored in there that I do automatically anyway. The rest I dont sweat. lol

  6. Thank you for sharing your thoughts. I truly appreciate your efforts
    and I am waiting for your further post thanks once again.

  7. Kris says:

    Hello I am so excited I found your web site, I
    really found you by accident, while I was browsing on Yahoo for something else, Regardless I am here now and would
    just like to say many thanks for a incredible
    post and a all round exciting blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to look over it all at the minute but I have book-marked it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read much more, Please do keep up the superb work.

  8. It’s nearly impossible to find well-informed people in this particular topic, however, you sound like you know what you’re talking about!
    Thanks

Leave a Reply

Enter your Email address to get instant updates of new posts & offers from us

Join 1,837 other followers

Follow me on Pinterest
Follow Me on Pinterest

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

